Bangalore Rocks

My mother says that I am building up a picture of life in India with this blog. That’s what I was hoping for, but sometimes the photos are misleading. I love green fields and cows, so that’s what I look for, and that’s what I post. Today I’m showing the other side of South India – the dry, rocky, ancient, semi-arid landscape.

I took these photos of rocks from the side of the road, on the highway connecting Bangalore and Chennai, near Kolar. I love the strange boulders at the top of the hills – placed there by giants?
If you are reading this in Bangalore, you may be more intrigued by the photo of an empty road – one precious moment when there was a break in the traffic.

The geology of this region pushes its way up to the surface, even at the golf course. The last two photos show the two opposite sides of the green at the 18th hole at Clover Greens Golf Club. In the granite outcrop, one strip stands out, as it runs all the way under the green and up on the other side.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Helentowershelentowers says:

    Yep – the open road takes the prize!!!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Wouldn’t it be great if it was like this all the time.

      Like

  2. Thanks for sharing the diversity of the landscape!

    Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

