Not-so-Distant Drumsticks

I discovered a whole new vegetable last week – the drumstick. I was shown a Moringa tree on a farm just across the state border into Tamil Nadu. The first photograph shows the Moringa flowers, and the second one shows the drumstick-shaped seed pod hanging from the branches.

Back home in Karnataka, I bought some drumsticks in the supermarket, took a photograph of the pods beside a pencil to show you just how big they are, then handed over the vegetables to my driver, whose wife made them into a stew (sambar).

The sambar tasted great, but I wasn’t totally convinced by the cooked drumstick. Like celery with large crunchy seeds inside?  Hard to describe. I’ve read great things about the Moringa tree – how well it grows in dry conditions, how nutritious the leaves are – but I don’t think I will be buying too many more drumsticks.

P1010680

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Thank you for stopping by my blog and for the “follow”. I am enjoying looking at your photos, especially all of the green in today’s post. We had more snow here in Minnesota. No green in sight, just white!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I hope you get some springtime green soon, but I love looking at your snowy wintry photos!

      Like

  2. adspark says:

    Very interesting! I never tried it.

    Like

  3. siva says:

    Moringa has great benefits. Leaves have high calcium . Its a big industry in the herbal medicinal market. Thailand produces a lot of dried products. The leaves make good curry and is also added in dhal.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I didn’t know that. I will buy moringa again. Thank you!

      Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

