Tamarind

After one post about London, Distant Drumlin is back to blogging about India. Today it’s all about a new discovery for me in India – tamarind.  Probably a very ordinary, mundane item for Indian people, but my tamarind adventure only began in April.  Here are some photos from the tree to the table.

P1010579

P1010583

Although I took these photos of the freshly picked tamarind fruit, I didn’t actually use it for cooking.  I was skipping a few steps.

In my first attempt I used a packet of “seedless imli“.

P1010556

The imli started as a dry brown mush, became a wet brown mush with the addition of hot water, drained through a sieve, and produced a dark liquid, which I added to my recipe.  None of this looked good, but the flavour was great.  Here is the brown mush from that packet.

P1010683

However, the next time that I needed tamarind for a recipe, I took the even easier option, using a ready-made tamarind paste, easily available in the local shops.

P1010760

International cooking is tricky.  The packet indicates that a spoonful of the paste is equal to a lemon-sized ball of tamarind fruit.  It’s a good thing that I had local lemons in the kitchen – they are much smaller than the lemons I use in the UK.

P1010771

And here is the final result.  A vegetable dish with that large purple vegetable with many names (aubergine, eggplant, brinjal), coconut milk, onions, tomato, garlic, ginger and tamarind.  Success!

P1010810

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Every London corner store in sells it… 🙂

    Like

  2. Very interesting post…I have made similar discoveries cooking in Honduras and love to learn about new foods and how to use them. For me, it has been learning to cook plantains, uses for sour sop fruit, star fruit, and discovering banana flowers for cooking. Thanks for stopping by my blog and I look forward to reading more of yours! What an interesting life you lead!

    Like

  3. dasganu says:

    Great post! Tamarind is very common in Indian cooking, especially South Indian cooking. Good luck!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you.

      Like

    2. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you!

      Like

  4. Bindu says:

    Good one.

    Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

