I Didn’t Miss the Mango Season

After my trip to the UK, I returned to Bangalore hoping that there would still be mangoes in the shops.  The good news is that I didn’t miss the whole of the mango season.  Namdhari’s Fresh is still selling mangoes, so I was able to satisfy my craving on the first day back here.

Then I bought 5 kg of local, home-grown, organic mangoes from my friend Poonam – and these mangoes taste just as good as last year.

mangoes

And even better news, I didn’t miss all the mangoes in my own garden, even though most of the small fruit which I spotted in March had been lost to the wind and rain, squirrels and crows (and a few sneaky humans).

P1020033

Mangoes from garden

Sitting in a mango-scented kitchen, with juice dripping down my chin, I realised that I couldn’t eat all of this fruit this week, so I’m packing the freezer full of mango chunks.

frozen mango

These mangoes are brightening up the grey, rainy, monsoon, jetlagged days.  And when they are not free from my own garden, they are less than a quarter of the price of mangoes in UK supermarkets.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. I have a mango tree in my yard and it is dropping fruit faster than I can freeze it and give it away to neighbors. There is competition from the fruit bats, iguanas, birds, and ants, too! These mangoes are smaller in size and are called sugar mangoes, or “cut-shorts” by the locals. They are sweet and juicy and mostly pit.

    I’m glad you didn’t miss out on the mango season there!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Your Honduran mangoes sound delicious too!

      Like

  2. Hi. thanks for liking some ( a lot???) of my posts 🙂 Your mangoes make me think of home (Australia). I really miss good fruit in the UK. Nothing in the supermarket tastes like anything, so bland. Sometimes I splurge from a fruit stall, but that’s more like a once in while treat. Enjoy them!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Yes, I liked a lot of your posts. I first read a post about living in Edinburgh, and then discovered your film reviews. All very interesting!
      Supermarket food in the UK can be disappointing. Bananas are the worst – no taste at all compared to the bananas I eat in India.
      But I did taste some great Irish strawberries on my trip home this summer. Did you find any good strawberries? Or raspberries? Maybe blackberries later this summer? Hope you find something worth eating!

      Like

      1. Actually I stumbled on the Stockbridge market on Sunday while out riding and found some good raspberries. Might have to go back with some dosh and a backpack next week.

        Like

  3. nikkikoloff says:

    Karolyn, I love how your photographs portray how every day is an adventure. Always something new, beautiful and different.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you! Everywhere I look in India I see something interesting. Sometimes good, sometimes bad, but always interesting.

      Like

  4. RaisingDragonBoy says:

    Glad I stumbled on your blog. I love mangoes and we get quite a variety in Singapore, where I am currently living. Yours look yummy too! Look forward to reading more…Cheers, Mom of Dragon Boy

    Like

  5. annetbell says:

    Mangoes…food of the gods…namaste. . .. Anne

    Like

  6. yum….
    Thanks for checking out my posts… and for the inspiration – I just changed my blog to the same theme as yours!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Good idea – the new theme should show off your wonderful photos of Alaska.

      Like

  7. muddepaws says:

    My favourite fruit, but the best of them seem to be over here in Hyderabad. They were wonderful 6 weeks ago, just before I went off to the UK. But if you are getting them in Bangalore, I guess I should look harder. There must still be some around.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Good luck, but you may be too late! I was posting about mangoes three weeks ago, and since then the Raspuri and Bagenpalli have finished, we are down to a few Neelam and Totapuri, and even those supplies are dwindling. I raided my freezer yesterday!

      Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

