Tough jobs

Today’s post is a bit different. I took some photos of women working at really tough jobs in Bangalore.  The first photo shows a woman working on a construction site.

Construction worker

The woman in the second photo is about to tip a basket of trash into the back of a truck which is just out of the shot.

Collecting rubbish

The thoughtful-looking woman in the third photo was sitting at the edge of a building site.  I am not actually sure if she was a labourer on that site, or had just chosen to sit there.

Construction worker taking a break

9 Comments Add yours

  1. I love the colours of that dress she’s wearing 🙂

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Me too – and that’s partly why I hesitated to describe her as a labourer on the building site. Her sari and gold jewellery look lovely. But Indian women do dress like this all the time, including when working at manual jobs. I think Indians looking at this photo would be able to tell – they would know the differences between expensive fabrics and designs and cheap ones. But I haven’t a clue.

      Like

      1. Linda would probably be able to take a pic of a Latvian woman digging up a road in stilettos, lol. It’s hard not to automatically jump to our culturally-conditioned conclusions 😉

        Like

  2. annetbell says:

    Such hard work…. namaste. . . .Anne talesalongtheway.com ( my blog from incredible India!)

    Like

  3. muddepaws says:

    Having worked next to an Indian construction site for the past two years, I have been struck by how much of the heavy labour has been done by women, mostly carrying building materials and rubble on their heads, often while men walk beside them empty handed or carrying clipboards. Great photos!

    Like

  4. Karolyn Cooper says:

    Thank you for reading and commenting. I do admire the strength of these women, but I wouldn’t want to swap my life for theirs, even for a minute.

    Like

  5. londonslant says:

    Thanks for liking my post, Karolyn. You photos are really poignant. I can’t imagine what it must be like to do such backbreaking work in the Indian heat.

    Like

  6. Kim in Fiji says:

    Hi Karolyn – Beautiful blog! I love your photos and your comments – and I certainly can appreciate your between-cultures state. What worpress theme are you using? Kim in Fiji ffwr_from_Fiji@yahoo.com

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you! The theme is Triton Lite. It is good for photos.

      Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

