Is there any Country that doesn’t have Ladybirds?

When I was looking for blackberries, I must have strayed into a surreal Meadow of Ladybirds. It was just a grassy field, on a sunny day in September, but there were Coccinellidae (also known as ladybird beetles and ladybugs) all over the place.

I think all my photos show the Seven Spot Ladybird (Coccinella 7-punctata).

DSC_0414

Some of the cute wee bugs were climbing up the grass.

DSC_0501

Some were shouting “Hands off our blackberries, Gigantor!”

Ladybirds on Blackberry

But some weren’t so lucky – this one was wandering around on some dried cow dung.

DSC_0500

Ladybirds are common in British and Irish farms and gardens, and are loved for being aphid-eating pest controllers. Do ladybirds have a worldwide range? I think they do, but I haven’t seen any in my garden in Bangalore. So, Distant Drumlin readers, do you have ladybirds where you are?

UPDATE ON 2 OCTOBER 2013

Sitting in my Bangalore garden on the holiday for Gandhi Jayanthi, I spotted something orange flying past and landing on a leaf.  I ran for the camera, and snapped this.

Is it a bird, a plane, a ladybird?

Same bug, different angle.  Could it be the elusive Indian ladybird? I have no idea!

How many spots?

21 Comments Add yours

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      And are there plenty of them in Spain?

      Like

  1. expatlingo says:

    We had many around in Cambridge (UK) and Seattle, but I haven’t noticed any in southern China.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      That’s a good start to our haphazard worldwide survey!

      Like

  2. Flora says:

    No more ladybirds in Bangalore. It’s so sad that we don’t have those beautiful creatures around.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I wonder why they have gone? Too much development, maybe.

      Like

  3. Lots in Canada but have yet to spot one in India after a decade plus! But what do I know? Living in a concrete jungle even when all our balconies are stuffed with a jungle of plants isn’t exactly the best indicator.:-)

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      That’s the second comment from India, so it does look like a negative picture for ladybirds in urban India. Lets hope someone has spotted them in a more rural setting.

      Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thankyou! Do you have ladybirds in Japan? てんとうむし?

      Like

      1. simplesoule says:

        Yes, we have てんとうむし.
        Kids love the cute bug;)

        Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thankyou! Have you seen any ladybirds in Taiwan?

      Like

      1. Yes! I have seen red and even yellow ones in my backyard!

        Like

  4. jjwalters says:

    well here in the US . . . in the foothills of Appalachia we have plenty of lady bugs to give away . . . by plenty I mean thousands and that is just on my small cabin in the woods. Personally I love all things “nature” BUT these guys are pushing the limits. . . .

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      That’s a great comment. Better than having no ladybugs at all. Or maybe you don’t think so?!

      Like

      1. jjwalters says:

        When I was a kid we would pick up a lady bug and sing. “Lady bug . .. lady bug fly away homme . . . then we blow lightly on it and it would fly away . . . .

        Today I suck them up into a shop vac when I can no longer see through my studio window . . . 😦

        Like

  5. chirose says:

    I love ladybugs.! We have them in Chicago and I have seen them in Mexico. In Croatia, we call them bubamaras 🙂

    Like

  6. B says:

    That is a good question. I will have to start looking. Insects aren’t big in Singapore with all the mosquito fogging, but now I want to find out…

    Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

