Top Ten Photos of India

I am in London now, looking back over my life in India. What did I enjoy most? The sunshine and the mangoes. What did Distant Drumlin’s readers enjoy most? Well, according to the statistics, you are fascinated by my post about red custard apples. Really? Why?

I want to try something new – a poll to see which photo of India is the most popular. It’s easy to take part; just look at the ten photos below, choose your favourite, then click on the poll at the end of the post.

I am including links to the original posts, but you don’t need to go back to them to vote – the photos are right here.

[UPDATE: Keep Voting! It’s New Year’s Day – 1 January 2014, and three photos are tied for first place: the tumbling flowers, the smiling girl, and the dog on the bus.  We need someone to vote for a winner!]

Let’s start with those mangoes.

mango and scales

Do you like the sunshine on these baskets?

Baskets

Or do you prefer this photo, from the day in August 2013 that I finally admitted that Palm squirrels are cute?

Peeling the yellow skin off
Peeling the yellow skin off

I did get a little obsessed with bananas, so I am hoping at least some readers liked this photo of the gardener harvesting our bananas in January 2013.

cutting bananas

Or do you prefer the photos taken on my trips out of the city, like this farmer ploughing with oxen?

Oxen turning crop

Or did you enjoy the moment that I captured in March when I saw a man splashing water over a cow?

Water splash on cow

I took several photos of bullock carts– is this your favourite?

Bullock cart and driver

Maybe you prefer portraits of people, like this one?

Smiles at fruit stall

Or do you prefer the Dussehra flowers tumbling out of the sack?

flowers pouring out of sack

Or was this dog really the star of the blog?

Dog steps down from bus

I would love to have your comments as well. Let me know why you like a photo….or just tell me that the custard apple genuinely is the most interesting thing about the blog.

23 Comments Add yours

  1. What a great idea! I was torn between the tumbling flowers shot and the bullock cart one – in the end I chose the flowers because it’s a more unusual picture of Indian flowers, and a beautiful capture!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you! Coming from you, that’s a massive compliment. I like the way you captured even more unusual flowers on your blog, around a dog.

      Like

      1. Ah, thanks. I hope you’re enjoying being back in the U.K. I’ll look forward to seeing some London pictures 🙂

        Like

  2. Damn you DD, for making us choose!!! ALL your photos are fantastic.
    Am expecting some of London. That’ll make me feel homesick….

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      The London project will start soon, if I find the camera battery charger in our luggage.

      Like

      1. Oh my… this could take till March 😉

        Like

  3. Helentowershelentowers says:

    I see I am currently the only basket case……….

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Well, Helen, you said it! I would never suggest that you are a basket case, although packing can drive anyone crazy.

      Like

  4. I love them all.. but the dog hopping out of the bus or the splash and the cow are both just too unique!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I was just in the right place at the right time for both the dog and the splash. At least I assume I was lucky- maybe the dog commutes by bus every morning.

      Like

      1. Oh now that would be something, eh?

        Like

  5. Tuija Vainio says:

    All other pictures made me smile, the dog made me laugh…and got my vote.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I love the idea of people in England and Ireland and Finland all laughing at my photo. A street dog becomes world-famous.

      Like

  6. i*Kan says:

    I had shortlisted mangoes and the man splashing the cow… till I got to the dog. HAD to be that one. Captures the crazy surprises that India can throw at you!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      You’re absolutely right. I don’t think I had a single day in India without seeing something unexpected.

      Like

  7. expatlingo says:

    I voted while hungry, so “bananas with sickle” it was. Best of luck with re-entry. I look forward to reading about your new adventures!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you! I don’t know if I will eat bananas now. Those local Indian bananas from Kerala, and from my own garden, were so tasty. We can’t get bananas like that in London.

      Like

  8. Expat Eye says:

    I had to go for the smiley kid! Don’t see enough smiles here! 🙂 They’re all great though!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you. That kid was great. I can’t help smiling back at her.

      Like

  9. Lyle Krahn says:

    I voted for the squirrel – my wildlife bias showing again.

    Like

  10. Karolyn Cooper says:

    Thank you for voting. Now that I’ve moved to London, and I don’t get woken up by the “cheep, cheep, cheep” of the squirrels, I almost miss them. Almost.

    Like

  11. Well I’m a bit late… but out of those three i think it’s cute that the dog is jumping out of a bus. The other favourite is the water getting splashed on an ox. Perfect timing.

    Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

