Christmas 2013: Welcome to London

Welcome to London!  It’s a big city, and winter is coming, but there is still some warmth.

Oxford Street information guy

The slogan for the man with the information is “Christmas Cheer Starts Here“, and it really does.

Christmas Cheer Starts Here

There are sparkly lights and decorations in most shops on Oxford Street.

Lights and Tree House of Fraser

On Monday there was music on the street too, from the EBONY steel band raising money for the NSPCC charity.

Ebony Steel Band

So don’t let the stress of Christmas shopping get you down – look for the friendly faces and music!

15 Comments Add yours

  1. GThomas says:

    Looks fantastic!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      It is. I’m on a roll now, walking and snapping, and I think I’ve got enough for a photo a day right up to Christmas.

      Like

  2. helentowershelentowers says:

    Karolyn,

    Was just sitting here wondering when your first London blog would appear and this just popped up!!!

    Love it – makes me a little homesick but keep them coming!!!

    Hope you are all settled in – I know you must be happy to be home!

    Missed you last night as we met in the bar at Palm Meadows for the box league social.

    Packing under way – no dining or living room furniture now!!!

    Keep blogging,

    H

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I love the idea of you four heading off to California on that motorbike. Don’t disappoint me by saying you are taking a car to the airport and then a 747.

      Like

  3. Love the pics! I can see the warmth all the way through, from there to India! 🙂

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you. I will be blogging every day for two weeks- come back for some more tomorrow.

      Like

  4. linnetmoss says:

    Lovely photos. Wish I was there!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you. I had fun walking with my camera through Oxford Street, Bond Street, Regent Street and Piccadilly. I just forgot to do any Christmas shopping. Don’t think my family will be satisfied with photos.

      Like

      1. linnetmoss says:

        Uh oh! I made the same error on my trip to London– no gifts, not even a stupid T-shirt! It’s a good reason to return.

        Like

  5. Are you trying to make us homesick?! Great photos.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you. I’ve just been reading your posts about the things you miss and don’t miss about London, and your favourite places there. That’s giving me some ideas….

      Like

      1. We promise you, if you like something original and a bit special (yes, they appear in guidebooks), in the main you won’t go wrong with the places we miss – especially the French House and Gordons. Have fun! Oh, if yo travel a little further out (we’re talking 10-15 minutes on the train/tube/bus) try Highgate/Hampstead, Greenwich, Kew/Strand-on-the-Green.

        Like

  6. Just reading three posts on your blog about Christmas makes me feel CHristmasy…. perhaps it is time I started being Christmasy……

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      You can start slowly, but you must work your way up to telling us about Christmas in Greenland.

      Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

