Welcome to Fortnum & Mason

Welcome to Fortnum & Mason, a beautiful old shop on Piccadilly.
F&M doorman
They do have special window displays for Christmas, but I was more impressed by the red and gold decorations inside the shop.
F&M red gold balls
You know, this shop doesn’t really need special Christmas decorations – their product displays look pretty colourful all year round.
F&M stilton
Gift packages from this store are popular at Christmas, and are delivered in these special hampers.
F&M Hamper 2
One final photo may give my mother a clue as to what I was buying in this shop!

F&M marmalade

6 Comments Add yours

  1. LOVE!
    I have only heard of names like Fortnum & Mason and Piccadilly. Good to see them in your pics. Hope to see them in person some day! 🙂

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      The next week’s photos should have a mix of famous names and some less well-known places in my local neighbourhood. Hope they inspire you to visit London one day.

      Like

  2. I want the Stilton. I used to live near Stilton…

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Yes I need to go back and buy the Stilton. We were cheese-deprived in India.

      Like

      1. Paradoxical, considering that they’ve got quite an important dairy industry AND a need to preserve milk in some way in the absence of a functioning cold chain. I know there’s yoghurt and various types of “cheese” that aren’t cheese to us 😉

        Like

  3. Karolyn Cooper says:

    You are right about the yoghurt. I spend the first part of my life not knowing whether to say “yo gurt’ with a YO” or “yog hurt” with a YOG. Then I get to India and they throw words like “curd” (English – meaning plain yoghurt) and “dahi” (Hindi) at me. But it (whatever it’s called) was available everywhere, so I’m not complaining.

    Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

