Spitalfields City Farm

This year I am blogging from two places; my city home in London, and my home on the farm in County Down.  So where was this photo taken?

P1030397

Yes of course, it’s London.  I took these photos last Sunday at Spitalfields City Farm, in the shadow of the City of London. Can you see the building known as The Gherkin in the background?

P1030390

To make this a perfect intersection of all the blog’s interests, I needed some connection with India. So I took a photo of this sign – am I right in thinking that the non-English script is Hindi? [*UPDATE: my wiser friends commenting below are correcting me – the sign is written in Bengali*]

P1030427

After living in Bangalore, I find London’s streets strangely devoid of goats, cows and chickens. So I just dropped in to the city farm to see the animals. There is more to the farm, however, than just staring at goats. For opportunities to learn, volunteer or arrange activities for children, click on the Spitalfields City Farm website, or find them on Facebook.  And if you want to find another city farm or community garden closer to you in London or across the UK, click on the website for the Federation of City Farms and Community Gardens.

Guided tours of Spitalfields City Farm are led by the hens.

P1030432

This is a goat.

P1030406

And this is a sheep.

P1030438

How do I know? I just read the sign.

P1030439

Using my new-found knowledge from the sign, I would say that this is a tall goat.

P1030414

Or it may have been a donkey. But this is definitely a very sleepy pig.  Goodnight.

P1030434

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Great pics 🙂 3/10 for your identification skils…

    Like

  2. That actually looks like Bengali.
    I could be wrong. :O
    But great pictures dear. 😀 I can relate to farm and city life. lol “This is a tall goat.” hahaha

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I’ve corrected the post now – thank you for identifying the Bengali script! Hope all goes well with your travels to India.

      Like

      1. Of course.
        And thank you. 🙂

        Like

      2. No problem. And thank you! I’m very excited! It’s less than a month now. 🙂

        Like

  3. Pssst… think that’s Bengali… not Hindi. 🙂 And love the goat, chickens, heck… its like across my street!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I’ve corrected the post now – thank you!

      Like

      1. Haha! Believe its just what it sez below – “Welcome” 🙂

        Like

  4. linnetmoss says:

    Had no idea there was a city farm within sight of the gherkin! Very cool photos.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you. The overall stress levels in the City of London would go down if all those office-workers walked over to the farm in their lunchbreaks.

      Like

  5. The Editors of Garden Variety says:

    They are all so lovely. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  6. cookies and roses says:

    Wow, I used to spend so much time here and had no idea this farm existed.
    Looks like a great place, thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Yes, it’s a special place. I found it completely by accident last year, and then went back with my camera on a quiet weekend. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

