Thames Path: Black-headed Gull and Mallard

London is a great city for walking.

As well as the parks, we have the Thames Path along the River Thames.  I foolishly chose a grey rainy day to walk the stretch of the Thames Path between Westminster Bridge and London Bridge.  It was still raining when I passed Waterloo Bridge.

Waterloo Bridge

The path is dotted with these lampposts.  For more information, click on this link to the “London Details” WordPress  blog.

lamppost fish

It was the proverbial “weather for ducks”.  So here is a mallard, on the stony bank of the river below the path.

Mallard beside the Thames

And here is a photo of a black-headed gull.  I know it doesn’t have a black head, but the RSPB website insists that these birds have white heads for most of the year.

Black-headed gull

He was shouting at something – maybe this police boat.

police boat

We law-abiding gulls and blogger were both ignored by the police.  So there will be more photos from this walk next time.

12 Comments Add yours

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      But we have grey skies and grey buildings and grey rain…and you are in sunny Key West!

      Like

      1. Karolyn Cooper says:

        Or maybe not so sunny….I wrote that comment before I saw your post about sweet potato fries in the rain.

        Like

  1. Flakey Blog says:

    Nice…I wanted to do sight seeing(Big Ben, River Thames, Palace…) at London…may be next time when I fly from States 🙂 will have a stopover.

    Like

    1. You can get the picadilly line from Heathrow straight to central (we saw all of those things when my husband had a stop over from US to India) x

      Like

      1. Flakey Blog says:

        Yea…nexttime I am planning to visit ..

        Like

    2. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I hope you do get a chance to explore London, and better weather. Don’t visit in cold, wet January!

      Like

  2. I miss London so much!!!!
    This photos made me wistful…
    “We law-abiding gulls and blogger were both ignored by the police” hahaha this made me laugh 😀

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      There will be more London pictures soon to make you wistful again. Then you can do the same for me with photos of India.

      Like

  3. helentowershelentowers says:

    Love the lamppost pic – it’s really stunning

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thanks Helen – I was pleased to get something successful from that walk, apart from a good soaking.

      Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

