Sport in Regent’s Park

Away from its formal gardens, Regent’s Park has a surprising amount of open space.  I just walk there, but more energetic people turn up for organised sport.

1.  RUGBY

Rugby players get the worst deal, having to play in the winter. I took this photo from the edge of the Cumberland Green rugby pitch in January, on a dark and moody day when nobody in their right mind would want to play any outdoor sport.

rugby pitch in Regent's Park

2. FOOTBALL.

The weather had improved slightly by March, when I took this photo from the corner of a football pitch near the Hub.  Football pitches become available when the weather is just about bearable.

Edge of football pitch near the Hub in Regent's Park

3. CRICKET.

When April arrives, and the weather would be perfect for playing football, the cricket season begins, hitting football for six.  There’s even an official disapproval of football, with signs proclaiming-

“Cricket Outfield: the playing of football is not permitted inside this boundary”.

It’s important to protect the grass on the wicket, but I’m not sure why football is completely outlawed.   At least the signs have become more logical this season. The old signs banned football, while still showing footballers on the same patch of grass.  The rule is still in place, but the new signs show a cricket ball instead, so I won’t complain.

4. One that baffled me.

These new lines were added in May, and I don’t recognise this sport.  Now it’s over to my American readers to tell me – will these lines be used for softball, or have the line painters gone crazy?

I hope there’s still room for football, especially in this World Cup year.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. adspark says:

    Interesting pictures! For softball/baseball I don’t recognise the circle and dash lines but the one on the right is where you stand when you bat. If you’re right handed you stand in the further rectangle and if you’re left handed you stand in the nearer rectangle. You hold your bat and face to the right of your photo. The long lines that extend out point to where the bases are that you run to after you’ve hit the ball. (It’s been a long, long time since I played softball…I could be all wrong on this!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you, my American friend! You can now use my photos as a reference when you decide to coach a softball team for your children in your expat location.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Update on the softball marks: you were right about left-handed and right-handed batters. Yesterday, after a month of play, the rectangle for right-handed batters was well worn, i.e. no grass left.

      Like

  2. Aw, that first pic… I used to pass by that field there every Wednesday on my way to work… memories… not all happy, when I think about it in detail, but nostalgia is a fabulous thing 🙂 Keep posting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I’m happy to feed your nostalgia. Any requests for photos of particular places with good memories?

      Like

      1. That cheese shop….!

        Like

      2. Oh, and Marylebone Public Library 🙂

        Like

        1. Karolyn Cooper says:

          OK The cheese shop is easy, but the library will be an interesting one. It has moved to temporary premises. Good news for me because the library is now really convenient.
          http://wcclibraries.wordpress.com/2013/08/29/were-open-marylebone-library-on-the-move-pt9/

          Like

          1. What?! The library has moved out of its beautiful building??? Sacrilege…!!!

            Like

          2. Karolyn Cooper says:

            Yes. The Old Town Hall is now under refurbishment. When it re-opens it will be shared between Westminster Council and London Business School, but there will be no room for a library. There are plans to build a new library in Luxborough Street or Moxon Street – but for the moment the library is housed in a very ordinary building in Beaumont Street.

            Like

          3. I see… my writers’ group used to meet in there. I still get emails from them… I guess I should unsubscribe from the list, but I can’t seem to get round to it 😉

            Like

          4. Karolyn Cooper says:

            Don’t unsubscribe – just use their emails as a reminder to keep writing. I will look at the notice board next time I pass the library to see if it mentions your group.

            Like

          5. At least we know it still exists! I doubt there’ll be anyone left from “my” group 😉

            Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

