How to Come 47th in a Photo Competition

So, do you remember my struggle to enter the “Life in Marylebone” competition?  You can track my progress from this blog post (when I was fizzing with enthusiasm) through this one (when I was listing all my failures) right up to today (when I am celebrating).

Marylebone High Street shop signs

I’ve just come back from the Life in Marylebone Exhibition.  My photo of Marylebone High Street (similar to the one above) is framed and hanging on the wall at the exhibition.  I’m so pleased.  In fact I’m as happy as this stone (stoned?) dragon, captured in one of my entries which didn’t make the cut.

 Stoned Dragon

There are fifty photos in the exhibition, showing all aspects of Life in Marylebone.  My favourites are all portraits – Simone Mazzucconi’s romantic image of a couple walking together on Chiltern Street, Colin Best’s passenger in Baker Street tube station, Robert Batchelor’s shoppers on Oxford Street, and Jamie Stuart’s joyous image of a worker at a car wash on Edgware Road.   I’m going to study those pictures to learn more about photographing people.

golden balls on railings

The only person in my entries was the vague hint of a man walking towards the railings in the photo above, so maybe the judges thought I showed too much “Marylebone” and not enough “Life”.  In general I think my photos were too simple.  Next time I need to add some elements – ask someone to abseil down the wall cleaning the windows or pruning the ivy?

ivy on windows

Looking around the exhibition of fifty photos, however, I don’t think mine is the worst entry, so I’m ranking myself 47 out of 50.

The exhibition will be open to the public for one day only – this Sunday, 15 June, from 11am to 6pm.  It’s at the Hellenic Centre on Paddington Street, London W1.  The exhibition is part of the Marylebone Fayre, an annual event which closes Marylebone High Street to traffic for a day and fills it up with stalls, music, people and fun.  If you are going to the fair, please do go along to the photo exhibition.  You can even buy a book, featuring my photo on page 23.

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Expat Eye says:

    That’s so cool! Congratulations! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you. I intend to be big-headed all weekend.

      Like

      1. Expat Eye says:

        I’d get at least a week out of that 😉

        Like

  2. pilipala51 says:

    Well done Karolyn. Just need to master the pheasants now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Dragons were more successful – not so easily spooked.

      Like

  3. I love that dragon!!! There’s no pleasing some people… 😉
    Congrats, sounds like it’s been a really enjoyable experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you. Yes, the whole thing was great from beginning to end. I’m a big fan of local photo competitions now. If Toledo have one, you should enter.

      Like

      1. Toledo does have these kinds of things, but there’s no way I’d enter. I don’t even have a ‘proper’ camera! 😉

        Like

  4. I like the stoned? dragon too. Well done though on getting selected for the exhibition. It’s certainly an achievement.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you. The dragon is one of a pair on the front of a grand house on Devonshire Street. I wouldn’t have noticed them if it hadn’t been for the competition Now I smile every time I walk past.

      Like

  5. Kim in Fiji says:

    Congratulations! I take it that the judges just picked 50 photos and did not rank them. How modest of you to claim the 47th spot! I hope all 50 will be on line when the exhibition finishes.

    Like

  6. Congratulations! I knew that picture was good. 🙂 (Just catching up, obviously – missed a few things recently!)

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you!

      Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

