Mr Selfridge in the Park

Are these the latest London fashions?

Regents Park Mr Selfridge actors

No, these people in Regent’s Park are actors, in the TV drama “Mr Selfridge”.  They were filming in the park when I walked past early one morning in June.  When I asked an actress what was being filmed, she insisted “we’re not allowed to tell you”.  But a quick glance at the vehicles parked nearby gave it away.

Mr Selfridge parking permit

Mr Selfridge is a television drama series about Harry Gordon Selfridge and his London department store Selfridge & Co, set in the 1910s. It is co-produced by ITV Studios and Masterpiece/WGBH for broadcast in the UK on ITV and in the USA on PBS. The first two seasons have been popular, and the next season picks up the story in 1919. I hope these shots don’t reveal any spoilers for season 3.

Regents Park Mr Selfridge camera
SPOILER: A man and a woman will wear hats.
Regents Park Mr Selfridge bicycle
SPOILER: a man will take his bicycle to the park (because Boris bikes were not available for hire in 1919).

 [UPDATE: Now that I’ve seen episode 2 of season 3, I recognise Doris and Miss Mardle in my first photo, sitting with their picnic basket, and the edge of baby Ernest’s pram.]

20 Comments Add yours

  1. “We are not allowed to tell you” – what bollocks! Do they think they are the MOD???

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Maybe they were protecting some superstar actor, but I didn’t spot Brad or Angelina lurking around anywhere.

      Like

      1. They’ve retired, haven’t they…?

        Like

        1. Karolyn Cooper says:

          They’ve turned to politics. Angelina was in London last week, attending a conference with our Foreign Minister.

          Like

          1. Aha… the things I learn from blogging…

            Like

  2. Oh, and great pics, as always 🙂

    Like

  3. linnetmoss says:

    I’m going to share this with my mum. She adores Mr. Selfridge!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Excellent. Ask your Mum if she recognises anyone in the photos.

      Like

  4. expatlingo says:

    “Spoiler: men and women will wear hats.” Ha! Now tell us what’s really going to happen.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      What happens next? Lots of shows have been filmed in London recently, so we could be watching Mr Selfridge have a secret meeting with Jack Bauer, only to be discovered by Sherlock.

      Like

      1. expatlingo says:

        Maybe as a Christmas special?

        Like

  5. I was kinda hoping they were real people dressed like that 🙂 I’m gonna have to check that show out, I love British dramas.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I know- everyone looked so elegant.

      Like

  6. judilyn says:

    Very cool to see these costumes. We adore the period pieces that we get from Britain. American television – well, I shouldn’t criticize because I have no idea because we don’t watch, but Masterpiece Theatre is the tops!

    Virtual hugs,

    Judie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Well, in return I must say that I love some of the American television. Thankyou for sending us Buffy, The Wire, and The West Wing.

      Like

  7. So far I have never seen a production being made except some news shows of course. Great last picture btw!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you. Regent’s Park is a great place to film, because there are so few traces of the 21st century.

      Like

      1. I guess one day I have to see it for myself 🙂

        Like

  8. Love Mr Selfridges~ oh how cool is that to see some stars in the park! =) Have you seen much filming about in London?

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      No I haven’t seen much. Sometimes I see road closures, lights and vehicles without seeing any actors.

      Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

