Do you Want to Live in London’s Prettiest Streets?

Is this the prettiest street sign in London?

cambridge gate sign

You can find it on the eastern edge of Regent’s Park, at the entrance to Cambridge Gate, where apartments are currently advertised for sale at £8 million.

Cambridge Gate entrance

If you have twice that amount of money, and twice as much confidence in the London property bubble, you could buy a whole house in Hanover Terrace on the western side of the park.

Hanover Terrace

By the time I’ve posted this, prices will probably have gone up even higher, so I won’t bother quoting a price for apartments in Ulster Terrace, on the southern edge of the park.

Ulster Terrace

Anyway, it costs nothing to walk your dog along Kent Passage, admire all these beautiful houses, and then go walking in the park.

Kent Passage

 

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Kim in Fiji says:

    You’d have to live in a fairly pricey neighborhood to be within dog-walking distance, I’d think. Good on you!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      You’re half right. I live in one of the expensive areas, close to currently-fashionable Marylebone High Street, and I know how lucky I am. But London is a patchwork of “villages” and you’d be surprised at how things change from one street to the next. Not on the same scale as in India, where gated communities and slums are right beside each other. But still, there are pockets of deprivation in central London. It has been really noticeable to me when I’ve been walking around taking photos for the Bleeding London project.

      Like

  2. If I ever write a bestseller, I’ll let you know 😉

    I used to live round the corner form The Bishops Avenue…

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Bishops Avenue has been in the news recently, with criticisms of owners neglecting their mansions.

      http://www.theguardian.com/business/gallery/2014/jan/31/bishops-avenue-derelict-mansions-in-pictures

      Like

      1. Oh my! So this is what can happen to London prime real estate… on the one hand, it’s a shame, but on the other, I find it hard to care about the state of something 99.99% of people on the planet could never afford.

        Very interesting, though. I shall pass that link on to my friend, who’s just bought a flat by Hampstead Heath Extension.

        Like

  3. Beautiful pics! Loved the one of the house with the flowers in UIster Terrace.
    That sure is a beautiful road sign!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you. Someone who is responsible for the gardens and maintenance of street signs clearly has an artistic eye.

      Like

  4. linnetmoss says:

    I remember walking there and seeing the house with the “Wedgwood” style pediment. That area was beautiful but slightly sterile, I thought, because it’s so Neoclassical. Still, if I had the money, I would gladly live there 🙂

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      That’s a good description – beautiful and sterile.

      Like

  5. judilyn says:

    Whoa! For an apartment?! Wow!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Yes. Property prices in central London have gone crazy.

      Like

  6. If you venture south, here’s a ‘challenge’ – seek out Diamond Terrace in Greenwich, SE10.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I will take up your challenge, but it may take a while, as I will spend some of the summer in Northern Ireland, actually on my distant drumlin.
      I’ve only done one set of photos in SE10 so far – when I was waiting to see the Monty Python show at the O2 (Millennium Dome). I took some shots of the new streets on the north Greenwich peninsula…very different from your Diamond Terrace, I think. I may blog the Dome shots soon.

      Like

  7. expatlingo says:

    As the old song says: “Nice work, if you can get it.” Lovely street sign!

    Like

  8. Karolyn Cooper says:

    I’ve got quite a collection of street signs now. I shouldn’t be in favour of concealing the street names, but some places do let the ivy grow over the signs in a lovely photogenic way.

    Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

