Bleeding London: Edgware Road

In taking photos for the Bleeding London project, I have walked along some quiet streets, away from London’s famous landmarks and wealthy neighbourhoods.  At first the streets seem nondescript, with no photogenic features.  But just give it a few minutes and you will always find something worth noticing.

NW1 Cabbell Street

This statue of a window cleaner by sculptor Allan Sly stands outside Edgware Road tube station, but it makes people smile because the cleaner is actually looking up at a much taller building – Capital House.  There is no way his wee ladder is ever going to reach the 16th storey windows.

I want to sing the praises of Edgware Road and the Lisson Grove Estate: not the most glamorous of streets, but they have plenty of friendly people, who have made a pretty good effort to add flowers and green space wherever possible.

NW8 Mallory Street

I liked this lavender on Jerome Crescent.

Lisson Grove Estate

And there’s love too.

 

I love Mustafa

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Kim in Fiji says:

    I really like sculptures and there just aren’t enough of them. Thanks so much for the window cleaner – and I love how you framed the shot!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you – I felt that the post was missing a shot of the tall building. I didn’t get a chance to go back and take another photo, but I found a blog that did this whole scene better than me: http://baldwinhamey.wordpress.com/2013/07/26/window-cleaner/

      Like

      1. Kim in Fiji says:

        Thanks! I clicked, I looked, I liked!

        Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

