Bleeding London: Primrose Hill

Where did I go next on the Bleeding London project?  Primrose Hill.  This is the neighbourhood lying between Regent’s Park, Camden Town, Chalk Farm and St. John’s Wood.  It takes on some of the character of each of those areas, being a posh, diverse, lively, leafy village.

NW1 Regent's Park Road

Every website discussing Primrose Hill mentions its celebrity residents, a collection of models, musicians and actors, but the only person who I can state with any certainty as living there is my friend Lisa.  Here is a photo of Chalcot Crescent (showing neither Lisa nor her house).

[UPDATE in 2015: Now I know someone else who lives there…..Paddington Bear.  This street was used as a filming location for the 2014 movie.]

Chalcot Crescent

This is the closest I got to the hill of Primrose Hill.  No streets to photograph within the park, so I had an excuse not to walk all the way up.

NW1 Albert Terrace

The parkland vibe seems to have invaded the streets, with greenery everywhere.

St Mark's house number

 

NW1 Kingstown Street

It doesn’t make it easy when I’m trying to identify every street.

NW1 Kingstown Street

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Primrose Hill! I love it 🙂 That Russian pancake place… oooooh….. droooool.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Guess what? Trojka has closed. And I was keen on Lanka, which had a Japanese flavour – but it moved to Finchley Road. Things are changing all the time on Primrose Hill. I saw a cutting comment in the local press, blaming “yummy mummies” for ruining the area because “The yummy mummies just want somewhere to settle their prams and have a mummies’ meeting”.

      Like

      1. Interesting! …and what a shame 😦 Those mummies should have eaten more yummy pancakes…

        Like

  2. Kim in Fiji says:

    Those painted flats look almost tropical! I’m surprised that such novel colours are allowed in London! Cheerful!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      It’s quite outrageous isn’t it! So many places in London are uniformly cream, or uniformly brown. I looked back at my post on south Indian houses and smiled.
      https://distantdrumlin.wordpress.com/2013/05/14/brightly-painted-houses/
      Is Fiji the same?

      Like

  3. Ahhh! I’ve been ill for 2 weeks (and so has my computer!) but I always feel better when I see your lovely photos. Theyre’ not just beautiful, they’re always so happy as well. ❤

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Hope you’re feeling better. Your pictures of St Elia made me happy too. It has been grey, raining and windy all day here, and your sunny island photos were good for my soul!

      Like

  4. linnetmoss says:

    I spied some luscious Rainier cherries on that grocer’s stand. Beautiful photos!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you. I hadn’t noticed the cherries. I am currently obsessed with nectarines. Which is better – white flesh or yellow flesh? Need to eat one a day all of next week to decide.

      Like

      1. linnetmoss says:

        Ooooh, nectarines. Heavenly at the perfect state of ripeness, but before or after (which is how they usually arrive here) not quite so lovely. I am a lover of peaches, so I usually go for the yellow…

        Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

