New Arrivals on the Drumlin

When my father retired from farming, he couldn’t quite kick the habit of looking after animals.  So last month he brought two donkeys home to the drumlin.

Donkeys at trough

The small brown one looks sweet and innocent…..

Espresso

….but he started this fight.

fighting donkeys

I’m sure they have donkey-reasons for fighting, but I think that particular fight was a way of competing for human attention and the apples and carrots in my pockets.  Soon they were friends again.

Resting donkeys
This photo was featured in the local paper – see page 16 of the Belfast Telegraph on 13 August 2014.

Anyway, the donkeys are keeping us all entertained.

donkey whiskers

 

22 Comments Add yours

  1. Love the pics! I miss summers on the farm in rural Manitoba. That was one of the highlights of growing up – spending time on family friend’s farms and my aunt’s farm. I’m convinced this is why my sister became a vet!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Summers on the farm are great. I’m just not committed enough to the farming life to work there all year round. But seeing the donkeys peering over the gate into the yard makes everyone smile.
      Is your sister still a vet? Large farm animals, or small pets, or both?

      Like

      1. Yup she is! Small animals mostly. But every once and a while gets called out to Llama farms and the zoo! 🙂

        Like

  2. Donkeys are wonderful. Wish I had space for a donkey sanctuary. Hope they enjoy life with your father.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Any suggestions on how to make them happy? So far we have learned that they enjoy apples and carrots, but won’t touch bananas.

      Like

      1. We’ve only tried apples and carrots, pretty much like horses really I guess. A horsey person would presumably.

        Like

      2. Juanita says:

        Hi Karolyn,
        any suggestions on how to make Alpacas happy, we will be bringing the two Alplacas to our farm this week, they 5 years old, they both male/brothers.
        The owner decided to give away to us, I’m very excited but as the same time I don’t know how to care for them, I have been Google and reading about them but still getting nervous.

        Like

        1. Karolyn Cooper says:

          No idea, sorry, Juanita. I’m sure the alpacas will have a great life at your place. You’ve worked with real people in hospitals, so I have no doubt you can handle alpacas. Post some photos on Facebook, or start a blog, so we can see them. I bet they look really cute.

          Like

  3. Awwwww! I love donkeys 🙂

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      You and Sancho Panza. I remember when your blog had Don Quixote days. Did you exhaust all the Cervantes possibilities of Toledo?

      Like

      1. Yeah… material was getting a bit thin on the ground, but I did keep it up for a good three months 😉

        Like

  4. Andrew says:

    Wonderful photos. Donkeys are much maligned but have great personalities. Who wouldn’t want one given the opportunity?

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      They are proving a big hit with all the family. My cousins groomed the shaggy one, so he looks better, but I think we will still name him Shaggy. We saw the small brown one bite Shaggy, so it now looks like we will call him Luis Suarez.

      Like

  5. adspark says:

    My kids enjoyed this post!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Your kids probably know more about donkeys than I do. Do they have any advice on how to keep donkeys happy? Carrots and apples are working well so far. Plus Dad buys bags of special donkey food from the farm supply store.

      Like

  6. pollyheath says:

    Oh my, they are too cute! Love some adorable, carrot-spurred donkey fights!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      They really are cute, aren’t they? I’m just a bit wary when I’m in the field with them, in case they turn their biting and kicking games on me.

      Like

  7. Kim in Fiji says:

    Your father reminds me of my husband! Kudos to your Dad for the entertaining farm stock 🙂

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Dad is praising the donkeys for being cleaner than cattle. They seem to have chosen two spots in the field for their “toilet”, leaving piles of manure only in those spots. Cows would leave their droppings everywhere, where they are standing, where they are lying..!

      Like

  8. I love donkeys!! There was a beautiful donkey next to my grandparents house when I was a child, and ofcourse I always remember riding donkeys on the beach. Wonderful photos xxx

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thank you. I don’t think I will be riding either of these donkeys – they seem a bit too rowdy.

      Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

