Swans in Loch Lomond

England or Northern Ireland?  Neither.  Today’s post comes from Scotland.  I’m just back from a weekend trip to Loch Lomond, home of some beautiful swans.

Loch Lomond Swan reflection

This one looked hopefully in my direction, but I had no food to offer it.

Loch Lomond Swan facing me

So it decided to practice yoga instead.

DSC_0470

If you’ve ever seen Matthew Bourne’s Swan Lake, you can see from the next two photos where the costume designers got their ideas.

Loch Lomond Swan wings

DSC_0481

4 Comments Add yours

  1. linnetmoss says:

    Gorgeous plumage! It’s interesting to see those little white thingies under the feathers. Maybe they are new feather buds?

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Yes I think so. I’d never seen a swan so close before while it was so relaxed, just going about its own cleaning routine. They are used to people there, with lots of boat owners and even a sea plane flying tourists on sightseeing trips.

      Like

  2. Andrew says:

    Superb creatures, beautifully caught – especially the yoga.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thanks, Andrew. I didn’t expect much, as I’ve seen many uninteresting photos of swans. I was so pleased to find that I had captured more unusual images.

      Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

