Chinese Food on Baker Street

It’s six years since I left my expat life in China, and three years since I last visited Hong Kong, but I don’t feel like I’m missing out on Chinese food.  Look at these photos to see how lucky I am to live in Marylebone, where my current favourite Chinese restaurant is Bright Courtyard on Baker Street.

First up, Shanghai dumplings or xiaolongbao. Learn from my mistakes: pick them up with chopsticks if you like, but don’t forget to support them with a spoon to stop all the hot soup dribbling out when you bite into them.

xiao long bao

I don’t think there’s any graceful way to eat the next dish, but I do know four ways to order it in London. Just ask for Chinese broccoli (English) or jielan (Mandarin) or gailan (Cantonese).  Or do what I did last week – keep your receipt from your last visit and show it to the waiter.

jie lan with garlic

Final lesson from my mistakes – cut the prawn cheung fen into sections – much easier to manage, and less likely to slip and slide out of your grasp on to the white tablecloth.

cheong fun

18 Comments Add yours

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Me too. Next step: find somewhere in London serving my favourite Indian food.

      Like

    2. ME TOOO!!!!!! I am so jealous… I really really miss chinese food… even British chinese food will do the trick! (Actually I know your cuisine is pretty good with all the different influences!).

      Like

  1. Expat Eye says:

    Ha ha, like the receipt idea! 🙂

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      The waiter laughed, but he brought all the right food, really quickly.

      Like

  2. Kamila Pala says:

    Like all this food! When I lived in Shanghai my favorite was xiaolongbao 🙂 … thanks for sharing! K.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      You’re welcome – it seems like these pictures are bringing back happy memories of China for people.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I don’t think this restaurant existed when you lived in London, although Royal China has been there a long time, on the opposite side of the road.

      Like

      1. I’m in London next week… lunch?! 😉

        Like

      2. Karolyn Cooper says:

        Amazingly, that lunch idea might actually work. Massive pressure though, if I need to find cakes to beat Bavaria, Spain and Florida.

        Like

  3. Yep, we’ll have a plate of those please…

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I’ll see if they do deliveries to Spain.

      Like

  4. laowhynot says:

    It all looks delicious!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      It was delicious. I think, from looking at the website, that the London Bright Courtyard is a branch of a Shanghai company, with a restaurant in Xin Tian Di. So they know what they are doing with their xiaolongbao!

      Like

      1. laowhynot says:

        That’s incredible. I wish we had more authentic Chinese food in the US outside of just NYC, LA, Las Vegas and other big cities. Everywhere else it’s quite gross.

        Like

  5. Andrew says:

    Not many restaurants in HK sell real cheung fen now. We have one left in Sai Kung. The best dim sum I find is in The China Club. I don’t need much to fill me up.

    Like

  6. expatlingo says:

    I need to find dim sum in Utrecht! Stat! Looks delicious.

    Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

