Potatoes and Bloggers

This week I had several reunions with old friends, and a first meeting with a new friend.  I am the “dotty” person in this photo, smiling because I’ve just had afternoon tea in Marylebone with Simone, author of  the “Lady of the Cakes” blog.

P1060674
The cakes are a starting point, but Simone also blogs about her life in Spain, about learning foreign languages, about Bavaria (where, yes, there are more cakes) and about her day job where she writes about the food industry.

Which leads me to the second subject of this post – potatoes.  Back in March I posted some photos of a field being ploughed As predicted in that post, this year’s crop was potatoes.

potatoes in grass field

Do you know how the UK and Ireland compare to other countries in the consumption of potatoes?  I do, only because I read about it on Simone’s blog.  Click here to read her post, which reveals, among other things, that the really big spud-eating countries are Poland, Ukraine, Peru and Russia.

Back in July, while we were waiting for the potatoes to grow, we had some pretty flowers to look at on the potato plants.

flowers on potato plant

Then in September, the harvest began.

 

Time for me to sneak back and steal the ones I photographed?

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. adspark says:

    Interesting! I hope you did get those potatoes. I understand you can grow them in fabric bags as well. We might try that if we can find some starters or something.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Good luck with your desert potatoes!

      Like

  2. Aw, thanks for the mega plug 🙂 I didn’t even notice that multi-tiered cake in the background until now!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I wonder if that cake is a permanent fixture? That gives me an excuse to go back to Patisserie Valerie this week, just to check.

      Like

  3. expatlingo says:

    I was wrong again, as I would have thought the Dutch would have to be there somewhere. They seem to have an epic ability to consume fries! (I am not complaining about this.)

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Well you may not be wrong after all, because I’m quoting statistics for fresh potatoes. Maybe the Dutch buy processed products like frozen fries.

      Like

  4. I had no idea potato flowers looked like that.

    (It’s nice to meet the Lady of the Cakes through you, too.)

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      If you are ever passing through London, I will buy you tea and cakes too.

      Like

      1. Ooh! Be careful, I might hold you to that. 🙂

        Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

