Bleeding London: Bayswater

I didn’t meet the man from whom my husband and I bought our Marylebone maisonette.  When we moved here in the nineties, the vendor had already moved out, to a house in Bayswater.  For a few years we forwarded mail to his new address in Hyde Park Gardens Mews.  Since then I’ve had a daft notion that it’s a natural progression to move from Marylebone to Bayswater.  So I enjoyed walking round that area for the Bleeding London photography project, choosing my potential new home.

W2 Hyde Park Street crop

I couldn’t decide whether I wanted my future to be grand or quaint.  This next one had a little of both.

W2 Albion Close

The big attraction of Bayswater isn’t really the attractive buildings – it’s the proximity to Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens, through the entrances on Bayswater Road.

W2 North Ride

I had an excuse for a stroll through the park, because the Bleeding London list of streets (based on the London A-Z) includes routes across the park, like North Ride (above, for horses) and West Carriage Drive (below, for vehicles).

West carriage drive

I don’t think I will rush to move away from Marylebone.  Bayswater isn’t perfect, with its own share of abandoned shopping trolleys.  Although they do come from a higher class of supermarket.

waitrose trolley

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Marylebone is much, much nicer 🙂

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      You’re right, of course. I wonder if the guy from whom we bought this place is wandering up and down the High Street even now, wistfully imagining the life he could have had in Marylebone.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh he will be crying into his coffee over it, I’m convinced!

        Like

  2. Andrew says:

    Always go for quaint over grand. Character first. Opulence a distant second. Both are out of my budget!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Good advice. Maybe you’ve decided to live in a palazzo in Venice?

      Like

  3. Kim in Fiji says:

    At least the trolley was abandoned, instead of filled with ragged junk and accompanied by a street person!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      If that was the case, I hope the street person found a new start in life and abandoned the trolley joyfully.

      Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

