Shutter Priority?

London can’t compete with India for vivid colours.  But when I looked back at my recent photos I found these white ones surprisingly peaceful and calming.

Kildare Gardens W2

Both of these houses had shutters for the windows, which is not that common in London.

white shutters in Sussex Place W2

I found these peaceful spots as I worked my way through the W2 postcode area for Bleeding London.  I think I walked along every street in W2, from Marble Arch to Notting Hill, but I won’t be surprised if BL spot a few gaps.

 

 

 

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Peaceful yes… but also seem a tad forlorn to me. Or maybe I’m just to accustomed to a riot of colour and people everywhere. 😉

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      You are looking through India-coloured spectacles. In London, grey is forlorn; bright white is as cheerful as we get.

      Like

      1. Haha! Will be sure to dutifully adjust my specs before coming to the UK then. 😉

        Like

  2. Andrew says:

    I do like shutters. It’s a shame they are not so widely used nowadays. Some colour contrast would perk them up a bit, Burano style.

    Like

  3. Karolyn Cooper says:

    These streets are like the anti-Burano.

    Like

  4. Wendy Kate says:

    I think it looks great! Simple and elegant 🙂

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I’d like to imagine living in one of these houses. Maybe my life would become simple and elegant then.

      Liked by 1 person

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

