Aerial Lifts and Giant Arms

If you were the operator of a boom lift or a scissor lift, which of these jobs would you prefer?  Cleaning windows in Berkeley Street, Mayfair?

W1 Berkeley Street

Or putting the final touches to this new-build in Porchester Road, Bayswater?

W2 Porchester Road

Or dismantling a giant statue in Regent’s Park?  The Sculpture Garden featured on this blog on Sunday was emptied of its art on Monday.

I had fun watching the movers from Mtec dismantle the huge KAWS statue.  You can’t see from the photos, but there was a man inside the hole where the left arm had been.

My enthusiasm for the Sculpture Garden even got a mention in the local paper –  tucked away on page 57 of Monday’s Evening Standard.  You can still find my Letter to the Editor in the online edition, if you click here and navigate past the mismatched headline and photograph to the letters headed “Let’s keep the sculpture park”.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Andrew says:

    Oh the sculpture would have to be top pick. So much more fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      The movers looked confident – not at all nervous about dropping an ear or nose. And a similar job has probably just been done in Hong Kong, because I read that a statue by the same artist (KAWS) was on display outside the Harbour City mall until 19 October.

      Like

  2. Fran says:

    What a shame the sculpture park was so brief – I think you should run a campaign!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I think this blog is the limit of my campaigning energy, but maybe my letter in the Standard will have inspired someone who was reading it on the tube on Monday night. Although I don’t imagine many people make it to page 57 unless they live in Hounslow West.

      Like

  3. Wendy Kate says:

    I was sat killing some time in a car park here in Andalucia, reading my book, when a recycling lorry came and I realised I was parked by the bins. I watched in awe as the guy got out and used a remote control to pick up the paper bin, then pull a switch to open the bottom and all the paper dropped out into the back of the lorry, then gently put the bin back down where it was! I had no idea that’s how they did it. I was quite excited (is that sad…?!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      You may be just a little bit of a machinery-nerd, but at least you didn’t make a whole blogpost out of it, like I did!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. That headline, although not even a bit funny in itself, made me laugh out loud with the photo.

    I do want to go up in one of those things. Not for cleaning, though, I hate that 😉

    Like

  5. Karolyn Cooper says:

    I couldn’t help laughing either. But I hope they change the photo or the headline soon.

    Like

  6. linnetmoss says:

    I have to admit that the sculpture looks quite threatening from that angle!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      It does LOOM, doesn’t it? But in real life it’s too sad and droopy to be threatening.

      Like

  7. Hard to choose! Giant arms have a certain uniqueness but sometimes you must just want a good, honest window.

    Like

  8. Kim in Fiji says:

    Fun, fun – I would take any of those cherry-picker jobs…. but am probably only strong enough to do the windows. Hello, squeegee!

    Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

