Gazing Wistfully Through the Railings

London has some peaceful, quiet garden squares.

Some of them are only open to key-holders, unless you are Hugh Grant, Julia Roberts or Ronan Keating in the movie “Notting Hill” or the video for “You say it best”.

Local residents can pay an annual fee for a key; the rest of us can visit on the next  London Open Garden Squares Weekend weekend on 13-14 June 2015.

For a few years I had a key to Manchester Square, but I gave up my key when I went to India.  Maybe it’s time to apply for another key, instead of gazing wistfully through the railings.

W1 Manchester Square

I shall leave you with a photo of an inviting bench in Cleveland Gardens, W2.

Cleveland Gardens autumn bench

 

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Wendy Kate says:

    What a shame, should be open to all! I love the parks in London.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I know I can’t climb over the railings to get into the private squares, because I was once locked inside Regent’s Park, and couldn’t get out!
      I wasn’t the only person there. It was New Year’s Day, and the park officials had closed the gates according to the December timetable by mistake. It wasn’t a disaster; we formed a good-humoured group of stranded walkers, and eventually an official drove past and opened a gate to let us all out.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Wendy Kate says:

        Oh, that’s funny! 🙂

        Like

  2. linnetmoss says:

    Ah, I love a secret garden…

    Like

  3. Andrew says:

    Can you camp out in them! They look very inviting. It looks like someone already has a tent set up.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      No way would we be allowed to camp out there. The tent in the photo must have hosted a glamorous gathering of beautiful people.

      Like

  4. Kim in Fiji says:

    The members of Hyde Park Estate sound like a bunch of grumps. Their sign makes me feel like going in with sacks of firecrackers! THAT would liven things up and put a smile on their faces I’m SURE.

    Liked by 1 person

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

