Thames Path: Chiswick Mall

I haven’t been on the Thames Path since April, and last week’s walk didn’t turn out quite as planned.

Thames Path sign

Everything looked great at Hammersmith.  My friend Alison and I had a great lunch at the Dove riverside pub.

Hammersmith pubs and boats

But as we walked upriver along Chiswick Mall, we were stopped in our tracks by this flood.

Chiswick Thames at high tide

To the left of the bushes in the centre of that photo is the river; to the right, the road.  Spring tides on the Thames regularly flood this street.  We should have checked the tide times!

london tides times

We turned back, but some cyclists and motorists took their chances.

Chiswick high tide

Still, the sun was shining and there were plenty more pubs to visit in Hammersmith.

Hammersmith 3 wide

While I’m on the subject of the river, I must tell you about the “Totally Thames” photo competition.  I entered a picture of some London bridges into the contest.   I was unsuccessful, but I was really impressed by the winners.  They have everything from tall ships in Greenwich to mudflats in Essex, and all of the images are a million times better than mine.

Click here to see the winning photos of the “Totally Thames” photo competition.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. adspark says:

    Crazy tides! But I wish I could have lunch with you at that riverside pub!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Next time you visit London, we’ll do that. But we will time it carefully!

      Like

  2. Kim in Fiji says:

    This was a fun one! Who’d have guessed that such a distinguished old city would put up with a road being regularly inundated by high tides.. And man, oh man – that photo competition. Great photos…. and I covet that first prize! I hope you take the championship next year so that you can blog about the great B and B, fancy dinner and view from the London Eye.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      My walking companion lives on the south bank of the river, where there is a high stone wall protecting the street and the houses. I don’t know why the north bank doesn’t have that. It does give the residents beautiful views…but wet feet.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. linnetmoss says:

    Wow, that flood is scary! Does it ever get high enough to damage the buildings?

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Sometimes, but the houses are set well back from the normal tideline. It would be a lovely place to live if you weren’t worried about the floods.

      Like

      1. linnetmoss says:

        I always worry about floods! But it might be worth it to be able to live in London 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. BerLinda says:

    That was a bit of a surprise! At least you had a nice pub lunch though – one of my favourite things 🙂 And I think you’re too modest about your photos 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      All in all it was an entertaining day, watching other people struggle through the water. Did you see any of the Berlin Wall events? The line of balloons looked good on Thr TV news here.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. BerLinda says:

        Yeah, I walked all along the line on Friday night, then watched them being released last night! It was great 🙂 So happy to be here for it!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. helentowershelentowers says:

    Great blog, I Love how you find a story in everything. I did look at the link to the pics who won prizes which i must say were great – but a lot of post pic processing on some I think!!

    H >

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Andrew says:

    I’ve never thought of flooded streets in London. I don’t know why, just seems odd. Still, as long as there is a pub at the end, who cares?

    Liked by 1 person

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

