Hong Kong: Expat or Tourist?

I’ve just spent a week in Hong Kong.  Some days, when I walked around with my camera, I was the archetypal tourist.

Star Ferry rings

Hong Kong decorations

On other days I felt like an expat again.   I spent many happy hours with my old friends in Central and Aberdeen, relying on them to find the best foot massage, the best Singaporean laksa and the best Sichuanese garlicky-tofu.

The best thing about expat life must be this lasting benefit, of making friends around the world.  People from Singapore, the UK and the Philippines meet in north-east China; and ten years later we are together in Hong Kong, talking happily about our other friends who have scattered across the continents to Norway, Japan, India, Indonesia and the USA.

On the other hand, the best thing about being a tourist is seeing the unexpected, like a dog running a shop in North Point.

Hong Kong shopkeeping dog

13 Comments Add yours

  1. You sure do get around…!
    Are you about to take up sticks again…?

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      No, this was honestly just a holiday. Not a “look see” for another posting. I’ve got hundreds of photos from November travels – will blog them in December. I haven’t read much on WordPress this month, but I did like your post about reading novels in a foreign language. I will go and add a comment right now.

      Like

      1. A holiday is good 🙂 I’d love to visit Macau.

        And yes, it’s a challenge keeping up with WP 😉

        Like

  2. Andrew says:

    The making of friends is true – it is one of the great benefits of being mobile. I’m glad you enjoyed the week and the dog in the shop is lovely. I wonder how he manages to swipe credit cards.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Good question.
      I was taking loads of photos of the market on Chun Yeung Street, when I looked into a shop and saw the dog. Just a chance snap. More of my market photos will follow in December, although I think the fish and veg and people that fascinate me will be old hat to you.

      Like

  3. Girl Gone Expat says:

    That is so true – hoping I will have the opportunity to go back to Canada in 10 years and meet the friend we have here now:) That would be great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I’m sure you will. Or maybe welcome your friends to Norway.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wendy Kate says:

    The dog is wonderful, can he count out change properly?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Slowly, with the occasional paws as he double checks the change.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Gotta love the different treatment of pets in different places 😉

    And I thoroughly enjoy quick trips to revisit familiar places and catch up with friends… that was my recent last min jaunt to Amsterdam. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kim in Fiji says:

    I LOVE the quirky things you see to photograph! Quick eye, quick trigger finger.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thanks!

      Like

  7. adspark says:

    Great photos! And I agree that making friends from all over is one of the best things about being an expat…YOU included! Now how to get you both to Dubai??

    Liked by 1 person

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

