Tread Lightly at Rotorua

Did I say I would choose three highlights from my trip to New Zealand?  Impossible.  If I cheat, and count my two Kaikoura posts as one, then there’s room for one more.  So here are some photos from Rotorua, famous for its geothermal activity and accompanying smells.

Hells Gate mud

You’d have to be pretty stupid to ignore these warning signs.

Hells Gate warning signs

Even on the paths, it’s best to tread lightly, like this pied stilt.

rotorua pied stilt

Rotorua Golf Club Arikikapakapa has its own geothermal challenges.  I wonder if they’ve thought of training pied stilts to retrieve golf balls from the thermal areas.

RGC 9th hole sign

I had great fun at both places, so here are links to their websites.

Rotorua Golf Club Arikikapakapa

Arikikapakapa Thermal Lake

Hell’s Gate Geothermal Park Tikitere

Hell's Gate scene

10 Comments Add yours

  1. I loved Rotorua, one of my fave places, think I’ve been at least three times!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Have you spent a lot of time in New Zealand then? Holidaying or Working? We loved our trip there. If it were just a little closer, I would be back there tomorrow.

      Like

  2. Andrew says:

    How did I miss this? Hubble bubble, toil and golf balls. I like the term Infants Pool. I know a few who would be candidates.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Maybe the infants of Rotorua are hardier than we Northern Hemisphere dwellers.

      Like

  3. linnetmoss says:

    Wow, that first picture is amazing. But maybe they should re-think the name “Infants Pools”!!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      The people of New Zealand seemed very friendly on my holiday there. Who would have suspected they were dropping infants into boiling mud?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. linnetmoss says:

        Gosh, afraid to “like” this one!!!

        Like

  4. BerLinda says:

    The smell of that place still haunts me 🙂 We did have a lovely day at one of the spas though!

    Like

  5. Just getting my bucket and spade…

    Like

  6. Kim in Fiji says:

    Reminds me of Yellowstone!

    Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

