Paddington Trail

Time to bring the blog back to London. A city that went mad for Paddington Bear while I was away in New Zealand.

Paddington is the star of books by Michael Bond, an animated television series on the BBC, and now a movie.  For a brief moment last year, he was also the subject of fifty statues in London.

In  December 2014 Paddington’s hard stare and “Please look after this Bear” label appeared on statues dressed by artists, designers and celebrities.  I only managed to take photos of four statues before they went to a charity auction.

Paddington Trail Chief Scout

The Chief Scout bear was waiting in Terminal 5 of Heathrow Airport.  Paddington had also gone shopping on Oxford Street, as you can see in the next two photos of Humbug Bear beside House of Fraser and Goldie Bear at Selfridges.

Paddington Trail Humbug

Paddington Trail Gold

My final bear, and my favourite, stood close to the offices of the children’s charity NSPCC (National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children).  His outfit was designed by a 13-year-old girl called Maya.

Paddington Trail Maya

A few days after I took that photo, Maya’s Bear was vandalized. Talk about a soft target. A character from a children’s book, decorated by a child, displayed to raise money for a children’s charity; this statue really should have been better appreciated.

The good news is that the charity auction of bears did go ahead, and according to the Paddington Trail website, raised in the region of £750,000 for the NSPCC.

For more photos of the bears click here for a link to another blogger (London Aspie) who caught them on the move.

 

 

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow, vandalised? What a target. I’m just sighing and shaking my head here.

    But in any case, the sum of money raised sounds amazing! Well done!

    (We saw the movie over Christmas and all loved it.)

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I should – it seems to make everyone smile.

      Like

  2. Those bears really look great 🙂

    Wonder why it looks so familiar though…I don’t believe I know those books or anything related to it

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Oh good, you have something to look forward too when Nathan is older: “Paddington Unser Kleiner Baer”.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thx, will check it out but I believe I will encounter it eventually in the tv program anyways 🙂

        Like

  3. That’s really sad that they vandalized that bear. Seriously what’s the point? I love Paddington bear.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I have no idea. Can’t understand why anyone would do that.
      Great to hear that Paddington has a fan in Oregon.

      Like

      1. Yes 🙂 My love started when I was a kid in Mexico City and my mom brought me a paddington bear toy from her travels and I fell in love with it. Fast forward a decade or so, I moved abroad to London for university and my very first apartment living away from home was at Paddington station! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. BerLinda says:

    Can’t believe someone would vandalise that bear. Such stupidity. They’re so cute! Humbug Bear could double as Prison Bear 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      It gets cuter. In the auction, Humbug Bear was bought by the English town of Fleet with money raised by lots of people including schools: http://www.gethampshire.co.uk/news/local-news/ant-decs-paddington-bear-statue-8453847

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful pics! 🙂

    I am a big fan of Paddington bear, and hope to read the books to Bubboo some day. Thank you so much for this post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kim in Fiji says:

    Adorable bears. Question: Are bears native to the British Isles? It seems to me that they wouldn’t be, but then an Englishman wrote Winne the Pooh, so maybe I’m wrong.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      No bears here. Just toy teddy bears, one of which was the inspiration for Paddington.

      Like

    2. Love the last one! What a pity it was vandalised!

      And by the way… the Englishman who wrote the “Winnie the Pooh” based it on a bear from Canada who made her way to the London Zoo and became a favourite of AA Milne’s son. She was named by the Vet for his home town of Winnipeg – where we definitely do have bears!! Check out: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Winnipeg_the_Bear

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Karolyn Cooper says:

        Thank you for the Winnie the Pooh origin story – I had no idea.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Karolyn Cooper says:

        I’ve just seen a Canadian bear on a blog this morning: http://krahnpix.com/2015/01/22/photography-imitates-life/

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Love it! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

          Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

