28 Photos Later: Day 14 in London

Welcome to Day 14 of “28 Photos Later”.

fourteen (1)

Today is a day of big rugby matches in the Six Nations Championship.  Ireland play France, and England play Italy.  Scotland and Wales play tomorrow.  So in honour of the rugby, here is a sign from a Bloomsbury pub.

Rugby tavern

Does this blog have readers from all six nations? Good luck to all the teams, but….COME ON IRELAND!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Kim in Fiji says:

    Not one of the “six nations,” but a rugby nation nonetheless – FIJI. I thought the boys were at the Wellington Sevens this weekend, but that was last weekend. They are somewhere, playing their hearts out for Fiji, but I’m not sure where….

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I’ve just looked up the fixture list for the Rugby World Cup, and I see that the opening match is England v Fiji on 28 September.
      Then there is the “grudge match” for you and me – Ireland v Canada on 19 September.

      Like

  2. I never really got into rugby but then again it is not really a famous sport in Germany…

    American Football on the hand gets much more attention in the media but that is probably due to the high media coverage during the Superbowl (American Football should be renamed into American Handegg…)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I’ve been watching one sport on TV recently that seems to be popular in Germany and Finland : biathlon. Kaisa Makarainen was one of the stars. I was very impressed.

      Like

      1. Oh yes Biathlon. I think it is mch more popular in Germany than in Finland. Everyday you can hear about it on the news here in Germany 🙂

        Like

  3. Andrew says:

    I watched both games this afternoon. I wanted Italy to do better. Shame. The Ireland – France game was good and the better team won. The Irish just scrap better than anybody. Tomorrow is crunch day for my team and I hope they turn up this week. Oh the shame of losing to England. At least here I watch it in the afternoon and not in the early hours of the morning.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I enjoyed the Ireland – France game. It’s a tough sport now. I don’t think the man in the pub sign picture would survive those scrums and tackles.

      Like

    2. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Well done Wales – that was a very exciting match for me as a neutral.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Andrew says:

        A bit lucky but you make your own luck 😊

        Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

