28 Photos Later: Day 18 in China

Welcome to Day 18 of “28 Photos Later”, which is another day of build-up to the Chinese New Year.

eighteen pomelos

One thing I remember from living in China was that I should hang our red “fu” 福 signs upside down to bring good luck, by using a play on words between “good fortune is upside down” and “good fortune has arrived”.  Here is an example from a door in Tongli (the town that I described yesterday).

chinese door

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Kim in Fiji says:

    Stand on your head for New Year! (somehow I don’t see it becoming a custom – though it could be quite amusing in Scotland – tee hee)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thomas says:

    Stumbled across your blog, and it looks like you’re having a great time. I’m a Peace Corps Volunteer and am looking for people to help me out with a project for my English class in Mozambique. There’s more info on the Postcard Project tab on my blog. Let me know if you’d be able to help out. Haven’t gotten anything from China yet

    Like

  3. The red signs are still interesting for me as you have to /should hang them upside down. For me it would be just terrible as I try to align everything as well as possible and to put something wrong way wouldnt be really really annoying :p

    Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

