Art on the Walls of London

I went searching for street art last weekend.  Graffiti doesn’t usually get coverage in the mainstream press, but reports of this tribute to the author Terry Pratchett (1948-2015) and illustrator Josh Kirby (1928-2001) have appeared in the Guardian, Daily Telegraph, and Evening Standard.

Terry Pratchett street artThe mural of the much-loved novelist and characters from his Discworld books was created by Jim Vision and Dr. Zadok on a wall on Pedley Street, north-east of Brick Lane, London E1.

Mural cropped

Over the past year I have come across lots more street art, entirely by accident, as I walked round London.  Here are some of the more memorable.

Shoreditch area is watched over by several animal guardians, some welcoming, some less so.

Bird on Brick Lane

EC2 Ravey Street

Camden Town is another good place to find street art.

NW1 Torbay Street - Version 3 (1)Those eyes stared at me from Torbay Street.  Not far from there, I found this rhino on Hawley Street.

NW1 Hawley Street - Version 3 (1)If you are in passing through Camden Town, look carefully at one of the bridges over the canal, and you might see an octopus created by China Girl Tile.

China Girl Tile Octopus (1)I’m glad I snapped all of these artworks when I found them, as I can’t promise that any of them are still there.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m a huge fan of projects that promote murals, artistic graffiti, street art whatever it is called! Great pics and love the work you’ve captured! I’ve clicked a silly number of the works around Bandra and keep meaning to post..

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Get your act together! Post that street art! I was the same, keeping those photos for months. The trigger for my post was the Terry Pratchett mural. You can use my post as a trigger for yours.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Alrighty! Getting off my butt… have some dilusion of doing some kind of regular weekend street art post! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thom Hickey says:

    Great to see the care and social/artistic energy in these works! Regards Thom.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kim in Fiji says:

    What lovely whimsy! Thank you so much for keeping your trusty camera at hand!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. linnetmoss says:

    Love the octopus, the bird and the Terry Pratchett tribute. Can barely stand to look at the flea!

    Liked by 1 person

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

