Buzzards, Pheasants and Swallows Do Make a Summer

Summer has brought some new birds to the drumlin.   Or at least, summer has brought them out into the open.

This common buzzard (Buteo buteo) was sitting on a neighbour’s farm gatepost on Wednesday, and wasn’t disturbed at all when I stopped the car to take a photo through the open window.

Buzzard on gatepost

Barn swallows (Hirundo rustica) don’t seem to stand still for long, so I was lucky to get this shot in Delamont Country Park today.

Delamont barn swallow

I’ve had more luck with the pheasants (Phasianus colchicus) in our fields this year, even spotting the chicks as they learn to fly.

hen pheasant

Hen pheasant and chick

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Andrew says:

    Fab photos – love them all. Amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Thankyou Andrew. This has been my best week ever for bird photos. Lots of time, in the right place.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Its interesting how you are able to captures these ones. Here I see from time to time also intresting birds however they are usually too quick so I cant take any good pictures 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I know exactly what you mean. That is my problem on 97 days out of 100. This week I just had three really lucky days.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I guess it is in the end just luck if you don’t want to camp out whole day for a few good bird pictures 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Kim in Fiji says:

    This is the first photo I’ve seen of a buzzard. Why do they have such a bad name? He’s beautiful! He reminds me so much of the Fiji Goshawk (I have a fuzzy photo of one I got this week). Magnificent birds

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Karolyn Cooper says:

    The buzzard name sounds worse to North Americans, I think, because it is associated with the turkey vulture. To me it’s just a beautiful bird of prey. I’ve taken many fuzzy photos too, of buzzards flying high overhead, but I had never seen one perched like this. I couldn’t believe my luck.

    Like

  5. Kim in Fiji says:

    Well, I agree with you that this buzzard is a beautiful bird of prey. The turkey vulture looks like a bad joke – and I don’t see how anyone who saw them both could ever get them confused.

    Liked by 1 person

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

