Washington DC

This is my second post from the USA.  After the photos of familiar places in New York City, I wanted to show you something new from Washington DC.

Washington is full of museums, monuments and memorials, most of which look like this.

Stone columns somewhere in DC

Anyone know where this is?  I will give the answer at the end of the post.

The next grand piece of architecture around the National Mall will look a bit different.  Construction work is taking place right now on the new National Museum of African American History & Culture (NMAAHC).  The design, the angles, the metal – everything is different from the neo-classical stone buildings around it.

NMAAHC from street

I haven’t seen inside the NMAAHC yet, as it won’t open before 2016.  According to its website, the museum aims to do these things:

  • to create an opportunity for those that care about African American culture to explore and revel in this history;
  • to help all Americans see just how central African American history is for all of us;
  • to help all Americans see how their stories, their histories, and their cultures are shaped and informed by international considerations and how the struggle of African Americans has impacted freedom struggles around the world.

 

NMAAHC side view

From the top of the Washington Monument, I got a bird’s-eye view of the new museum.

NMAAHC from Washington Monument

I wasn’t that impressed by the design of the building until I saw it burnished by the late-afternoon sun.

NMAAHC metal work

There is great potential here for a museum which interests many visitors from the United States and beyond.  It already has its own website – click through to it here.

Click here to read a article about the architect David Adjaye from the July/August 2015 edition of my favourite magazine – “Intelligent Life”.

And the answer to the question: the white columns are part of the Lincoln Memorial.

Lincoln Memorial

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Andrew says:

    I don’t know why but life has only ever taken me to the States on business. I don’t feel an urge to go when there is so much else to see. I seem to be missing a lot.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I understand what you mean. Travelling in Asia seemed more interesting to me than visiting America. But I do love New York City, even now that I’ve lived in Shanghai and and spent lots of time in Hong Kong. And one day I would love to visit some of the National Parks and Canyons.

      Like

  2. Fabulous seeing your American pics! Clearly worth the jet lag. 😉

    Like

  3. Kim in Fiji says:

    Oh hooray! I had no idea about the African American History Museum. I’m so excited! That is a museum I really want to go visit! And yes, I recognized the columns of the Lincoln Memorial.

    Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

