Autumn on the Distant Drumlin

As summer moves into autumn, I want to show you what September on the Distant Drumlin looks like.   It’s harvest time this week.

Ballylisbredan wheat harvest

Ballylisbredan combine harvester

We have a speckled wood butterfly – does that mean it’s still summer?

Butterfly speckled wood

On the other hand, I thought bramblings were winter visitors to Ireland, so maybe summer is over.

Brambling (female winter plumage)

I hope I’m right in identifying this bird as a female brambling in winter plumage.  If she’s actually a chaffinch, she’s equally welcome to perch in our hedge.  (And here’s a link to a great article about bramblings.)

Brambling (side view)

I’ll give the final word to our donkey, who looks perfectly happy to be out in the field – so let’s call it summer.

Donkey eating thistles

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Thom Hickey says:

    Seems you’re in a grand place – whatever the season! Regards Thom

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Absolutely.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. helentowershelentowers says:

    Love all the pics especially the top one – makes you fowl as if you actually reach out and touch it

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      It was that kind of day yesterday. I could stand in the middle of the field and snap the camera in any direction and find something good. Even directly overhead, sand martins and barn swallows were swooping and soaring around the sky.

      Like

  3. Marion Parsley says:

    So miss the farm in Ballymena this time of year. Beats potato picking! In love with your very cute donkey. Mxx

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      He’s a hit with our whole family.

      Like

  4. Andrew says:

    I’ve always had a soft spot for donkeys. I went ape once in Jordan when I saw a man beating his donkey. Made me livid. I think it’s Autumn but we’re getting Speckled Woods too so maybe not.

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I can’t imagine anyone beating our donkeys. If you tried to hurt one of them, I bet the other one would come up behind you and give you a bite or kick.

      I know nothing about butterflies. I was just pleased to find such clear markings and make an easy ID. Someone told me yesterday about Pan-Species Lists, where you record all the animals in your patch, not just birds. It made me think of you, as you cover everything from deer to mold.

      Like

  5. I like pictures of wheat fields. As I do of barley and oats. But rigid rows of maize I find disturbing. Is that weird?

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Maize is American movies to me. There is usually something mysterious lurking there. Can be a good thing like Field of Drams.

      Like

  6. I think they had harvest time beginning of last month in northern Germany, at least all the field looked very sad when we drove around 🙂
    I like the golden color of the wheat fields just before harvest

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Our harvest is later than yours because we are further north, of course. But our cool, damp summer won’t help this year. Quite apart from the need to grow food, I want golden days to take golden photographs of that colour you are talking about.

      Like

  7. Kim in Fiji says:

    Really beautiful harvest. I was going to ask what crop, but I’m pretty sure that is wheat. (If Simone eats some exceptional cornbread with ice cream, she’ll probably find an affinity for corn plants). Also love your fauna – antennae’ed, feathered and furry. Love the furry one the best – please give him a carrot with a pat from me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Yes wheat.
      I will give him an extra carrot from you. The donkeys are getting choosy – they are rejecting cabbage and broccoli. Only carrots and apples will do.

      Liked by 1 person

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

