Random Drumsticks

My other blog about Irish townlands has taken off as a proper project requiring me to be organised and accurate.  So I find myself back on the Distant Drumlin blog in a frivolous mood.  Ready for some random numbers?

Today is the 30th, so here is 30 Saint George Street.

number thirty

Saint George Street is in Mayfair.  Originally the street was called “George Street Hanover Square”, having been named after King George the First, who became king of Great Britain and Ireland in 1714 and was the first monarch of the House of Hanover.  In the 20th century the name was changed to “St George Street”.  I don’t think there was any ill-will towards the 18th century king, just a desire to sort out the confusion of duplicate street names, i.e. too many “George Streets”.  Adding the “saint” to this one was an obvious option, because the most famous building on the street is St George’s Church.

My next number is 39.  This one is very close to home. Devonshire Street runs across Harley Street on its way through Marylebone’s medical district.

39 Devonshire Street

On the subject of the number 39, here is a link back to my Indian days.  The next photo shows a stall in London’s Drummond Street selling Indian vegetables.  Front and centre is a box of moringa, also known as drumsticks.  In April 2013 I bought moringa/drumsticks in Bangalore for 39 rupees per kilogram.  How much would you pay in London in 2015?  Ten times that price.

Moringa drumsticks

No wonder a company in Mumbai is exporting them to Britain, as there is clearly profit to be made in drumsticks.   So how many did I buy?  Absolutely none.  I’m not a fan, as you may have seen already – click here to read my post from April 2013.


NOTES

I spent too much time puzzling over the name change for Saint George Street.  I think the name change was probably made by London County Council around 1939.  The most useful website was this one: www.maps.thehunthouse.com

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Devonshire Street… I used to work there… and what stuck up bastards they were!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Oh no! Have I triggered a traumatic flashback?

      Like

      1. Kinda… you owe me cake 😉

        Like

  2. Loved seeing your link back to desi days! Personally I do enjoy drumsticks in a slurpy delicious sambar… just to chew and suck out the good pulpy stuff before discarding the drumstick ‘woody’ elements that remain.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Aha, so that’s the way to eat them.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Kim in Fiji says:

    I’m all for frivolous, and it’s lovely seeing something new from you. Funny to see our old friends, moringa drumsticks. We are equally fond of them … not so – but I suspect their popularity is in the food fad department. Austin is coming across lots of articles touting morninga’s health benefits.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I tasted some new tea recently called “Moringa Passion” where all the flavour was passionfruit, so maybe there are ways of getting the health benefits without the woodiness.
      Talking of food fads, I heard two women order coffee this morning like this: “one soy cappucino, one skinny capuccino, both with chocolate on the top”. I wonder how they justify the fatty, dairy chocolate?

      Like

  4. linnetmoss says:

    Fascinated by the drumsticks! Never heard of them before. They look a little like stretched out okra, but it sounds as though they’re more woody.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Sorry I forgot to reply to your comment. I would describe drumsticks as tasting like okra stuffed with celery!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. linnetmoss says:

        Yes, that’s kind of what I was picturing. It might work in some of the same applications as okra–a crunchy gumbo!

        Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

