London Through a New Lens

Thanks to a birthday and a generous husband I have a new camera.   The Nikon D750 comes with a 500-page manual.  I am past page one, but only just, as I failed in my first attempt to attach the strap.

On the day after my birthday I rushed out to try the camera in Regent’s Park.  I was hoping for golden autumn leaves on the trees, like the ones I captured on my phone for this blog in 2013.  By the time I reached the park, rain was falling on me and on my camera bag, and the wind had knocked the leaves into the stream.

leaves underwater

My enthusiasm wasn’t completely dented, so I took the train yesterday to hunt for autumn colours in Kew Gardens.  I didn’t pick the best day.  There was no rain, but not much light either.  Still, the camera seems to cope better than I do with dull days.

Kew has a very big, very old, sweet chestnut tree, which shed its leaves when it saw me coming.

Kew sweet chestnut leaves on ground

It all came good in the end.   As I kicked my way through the leaves towards the edge of the park, I spotted something special among the fallen leaves, and I can confirm that the AUTO setting on the D750 knew exactly what I wanted to capture.  Here is a sparrowhawk feeding on its prey (a pigeon, I think) in Kew Gardens.

sparrowhawk in Kew 6

Kew sparrowhawk

Click here for a guide to identifying sparrowhawks (Accipiter nisus) on the website of the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds.

I will post more on this blog as I experiment with the camera.  There are so many buttons that I’ll probably discover the “birds of prey on November afternoons” setting soon.

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. What great pictures, it always takes some time to get used to another camera. Our camera guy at the wedding even refused to use other people’s cameras to take pictures of them as according to him he would just screw the pictures up as he cant use the camera properly 🙂

    Like

  2. Congrats both on you birthday and fabulous gift! Absolutely love that crazy wet fall leaves pic… and the sparrow hawks… they really do look like a mix of a sparrow and a hawk!

    Like

  3. niviews says:

    Great debut pix. There’s always the auto setting if all else fails lol. 🙂

    Like

  4. Kim in Fiji says:

    Dear Mr. Cooper – Thank you for generously supporting the artful aspirations of Ms. Karolyn Cooper.. [signed] A Grateful Fan PS – If you ever want to invest in a neophyte….

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oooooooh, a new toy 🙂 I take it you got the strap working…?

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      Yes. If I dropped the new toy, I could never go home again.

      Like

      1. Phew! Well, the rest of the manual can wait until you get bored with “auto” 🙂

        Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

