Sprouts

No trees today, just sprouts.  For some reason, these vegetables have become an essential part of the traditional Christmas dinner in the UK and Ireland.  They look like tiny cabbages, and the taste divides families.  (My husband is a fan, I’m not.)

Sprouts close-up

The Christmas supplies have reached London.  These sprouts from  Perry Court Farm in Kent were on sale yesterday at the Marylebone Farmers’ Market.

Sprouts at farmers market

The stallholder suggested that reluctant sprout-eaters like me should try sprout tops, those leafy greens at the top of the stalk.   The Guardian newspaper agrees: click here to read their article from December 2013.

Sprouts at farmers market topsNot everyone wants to buy the complete stalk, so it’s more usual to see individual loose sprouts on sale.  When the sprouts are harvested, the bare stalks are left behind in the field.  I captured this image of a sprout field in March 2015 for my other website, Townlands of Ulster.

sprout field

Now it’s over to you.  I would love to hear what my readers think of Brussels sprouts, so I’m launching a Sprout Poll.  Please vote!

RESULTS UPDATE ON 27 DECEMBER 2015

Since I launched the Sprout Poll, 25 people have voted, and it is a landslide victory for sprouts.

Adding together the simple yes votes, with the people who love sprouts but eat something else at Christmas, and the people who love sprouts but don’t celebrate Christmas, and the people who wrote in special answers like “I love sprouts but they won’t be part of a Christmas dinner in Finland/India/Brisbane”, we have a total of 16 people supporting the funny green vegetables.

The only person who seems to be on my side in this debate is my friend’s 10-year-old son Rhys, who wrote a poem accusing sprouts of being “slimy and bumpy…bitter, dark and mucky”.  You can read the full poem in the comments below.

 

 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. I have never seen these before – I don’t think we get these in India. I didn’t know it was a XMas tradition to eat these sprouts either. Thank you for broadening my horizons! 🙂

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      A vegetable from cold climates, so probably not suited to Indian heat. But I don’t think you’re missing much!

      Like

  2. Horrible things……… but my wife loves them 🙂
    I understand it’s all to do with the enzymes produced in the mouth – I wish I had known this while I was a child as it would have stopped me being forced to eat them.

    David.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Karolyn Cooper says:

    The voting is getting interesting. I’m not sure if everyone can see the “Other” answers that people are writing in to the poll.
    So far, we’ve had these responses as “Other”.

    “I don’t think we get these in India!”
    “I love them, but they aren’t part of a “traditional” Christmas dinner elsewhere”.
    And this diplomatic one: “Yes, but only on Christmas!”

    Like

  4. Kim in Fiji says:

    “sprouts” – I was expecting tendrilly things like alfalfa sprouts – you know freshly sprouted stuff (which I’m not all that fond of). Brussels sprouts – I always liked them as a child, never understood the YUCKS they inspired from skinny classmates … but alas have not seen one in my decades in the tropics. I would take yours off your hands….

    Like

  5. adspark says:

    Ha! Rhys is working on a poem for school right now that’s titled: I have my doubts about brussels spouts. This post was timely for his research!

    Like

    1. Karolyn Cooper says:

      I’d love to read the poem when it’s ready.

      Like

      1. adspark says:

        Ok, here it is…with some help from mom 😉

        I Have My Doubts About Brussels Sprouts
        by Rhys Thomas
        22 December 2015

        I have my doubts about brussels sprouts;
        are they yummy or are they yucky?
        Some say they taste like brains
        and that they feel slimy and bumpy.
        So I have my doubts about brussels sprouts.

        I have my doubts about brussels sprouts;
        are they yummy or are they yucky?
        They look like little cabbage,
        and they smell bitter, dark and mucky.
        So I have my doubts about brussels sprouts.

        I have my doubts about brussels sprouts;
        are they yummy or are they yucky?
        If only they could taste like minced pies
        or giant jawbreakers, I’d be lucky.
        But they don’t.
        And so I have my doubts about brussels sprouts.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Karolyn Cooper says:

          Brilliant! Well done Rhys.

          Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

