How to say Boo to a Goose

I stopped to watch these fluffy ducklings in Regent’s Park in June.  A mother, just minding her own business, swimming with her young brood.

Mother duck and ducklings

Then a goose came too close, and the mother gave him a look.  If I can borrow a phrase from Linda at Expat Eye on Latvia, it was a death stare.

Mother duck looks at goose

In an instant – and too fast for me to catch it with the camera – the mother duck was leaping on to the back of the goose.  Then she was over its back, down the other side into the water again, and (as you can see from the next photo) snapping at its backside until it flew away.

Mother duck attacks goose

No ducklings were harmed in the making of this blogpost….not sure about the goose, though.

11 thoughts on “How to say Boo to a Goose

  1. Love the goose flapping its wings about to take off!! I’m also pining a bit as my partner is right now staying in Marleybone shooting a film. I was sorely tempted to hop on a plane for a couple days before going back to Jakarta on the weekend. Alas household stuff, company set-up and taxes have kept me in Mumbai. Ugh!

    Like

Now it's over to you - leave a comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.